- Town Clerk
- Vital Records: Copies of Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Certificates
Vital Records: Copies of Birth, Death, Marriage and Divorce Certificates
Last Content Update:
Birth records for the entire State of New Hampshire can now be issued by any NH City or Town Clerk from 1935 to the present (except 1949 to 1950). Request a Copy of a Birth Certificate (PDF)
Death records for the entire State of New Hampshire can now be issued by any NH City or Town Clerk from 1965 to the present. Request a Copy of a Death Certificate (PDF)
Marriage records for the entire State of New Hampshire can now be issued by any NH City or Town Clerk from 1960 to the present. Request a Copy of a Marriage Certificate (PDF)
Divorce records for the entire State of New Hampshire can now be issued by any NH City or Town Clerk from 1979 to 6 months prior to the date of application. Request a Copy of a Divorce Decree (PDF)
- A vital records request may be made in person or by mail and must include the name(s) as shown on the certificate, the date of the event, the purpose for which the certificate is requested, and your relationship to the person(s) on the document. You may request a copy of the vital record by mail or in person at Town Hall; if visiting us in person, you may want to complete the form in advance. A copy of your driver's license, passport, or some other official photo identification is required. You should mail or present your request to:
Hanover Town Clerk
P.O. Box 483
41 South Main Street
Hanover, NH 03755
- If the request is done via mail, only a certified cashier's check or money order made payable to the Town of Hanover is accepted; due to data security issues, accepting debit / credit cards is not an option for mail requests at this time.
- If making the request in person, payment may be made in cash or debit / credit cards.
- In order to protect the integrity of restricted vital records, inspection or disclosure of information contained in vital statistics records shall not be permitted unless the applicant is an immediate family member (parent, sibling, spouse, uncle, aunt, niece, nephew, grandparent, foster parent, step-child or step-parent) or has a direct and tangible interest in such records. Applicants such as a guardian or a legal representative shall be considered to have a direct and tangible interest when information is needed for the determination or protection of a personal property right.
- Non-Restricted Records: Birth records 100 years and older; Death, Marriage, and Divorce records 50 years and older; a familial relationship is not required. All other records are restricted by NH State Law
- The charge for a record search is $15 by NH State law, whether a record is found or not. If the record is found, this fee covers the issuance of one certified copy of the record. Additional copies ordered at the same time for the same record are $10 each.