Conservation Commission



The Hanover Conservation Commission consists of seven full members and up to three alternate members appointed by the Selectboard for three-year terms. In addition, one member of the Selectboard serves as a liaison with the Commission, as does one member of the Hanover Conservancy, a private, local, non-profit conservation organization. Often a Planning Board member also serves as a member of the Conservation Commission.

The Commission's core mission includes:

  • Preserving and protecting the Town's natural resources, such as the Town Forest, trails, wetlands and water bodies, open space, views, and wildlife habitat
  • Supporting and advising the Selectboard, the Planning Board, and the Zoning Board of Adjustment regarding conservation issues
  • Implementing the Open Space Priorities Plan through solicitation of land and easements and the use of the Conservation Fund, and the development, extension, and maintenance of our trail network
  • Educating the public as to the importance of natural resource preservation and open space protection;
  • Monitoring conservation easements and landowners' adherence to their terms and conditions
  • Coordinating with efforts of other conservation organizations

Agendas & Minutes

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes

Commission members

  • Athos Rassias, Selectboard Representative
  • John Donovan
  • Hugh Mellert, Vice Chair
  • Whit Spaulding, Chair
  • John Trummel
  • Lucretia Witte
  • Matthew Cunningham